A Visit to C.O. Bigelow Chemists

During my last trip to New York City to attend the shows at Fashion Week I made a special stop to C.O Bigelow Chemists in the Village.

C.O. Bigelow is America’s oldest apothecary which opened in 1838.  And to give a little perspective of how long this special store has been in existence in 1838 Samuel Morse debuted the telegraph, Martin Van Buren was the President of the United States and Louis Daguerre unveiled the “Boulevard du Temple” the first photo which contained a person in Paris.

photo (47)

Left with a few hours between show I hopped on the metro to the Village in search of some unique beauty finds and to get some information on the best selling eye treatment for dark circles and puffiness and BB Cream. BB Cream is a product that contains foundation, moisturizer and sunblock properties all in one.

photo (48)

Wandering around the shop I was approached by a very helpful employee named Myanh. Myanh was very patient to hear about my concerns and product needs, and when hearing about my quest recommended Dr. Dennis Gross Eye cream and Jane Iredale BB Cream.

Unfortunately, the BB Cream was out of stock so Myanh kindly made me a generous sample so I could have enough time to test out the product to determine if it was right for me.  She also suggested that I can call the shop and order the item then have it directly shipped to my home which was a nice personalized touch.  Actually it was very refreshing to have personalized service and a connection with a name and friendly face.

photo (49)

After my personalized consultation, I continued to wander at the store looking at the gorgeous displays and unique brands.  Choice is abundant at C.O Bigelow as the store carries items from all over the world, and any trip inside is a feast for the eyes.

photo (50)Sometimes the packaging is so beautiful I don’t think I would want to use the product.

photo (51)

Proraso, the exclusive Italian shaving line for men known for the eucalyptus shaving soap decorates the shelves.

New York Fashion Week, NYFW, Mercedes Benz Fashion Week, New York City, NYC, C.O. Bigelow Chemists

The store also carries beautiful accessories and jewelry. Thankfully I was able to stick to purchasing the eye cream but my plan is to return again soon.

Leave a Reply

